Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 27

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Álvaro Albiach / Raúl da Costa

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Don Giovanni – Overture
Piano Concerto No. 27, in B-flat major, K. 595

— Intermission 20 min —

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 40, in G minor, K. 550

Duration 90 minutes

In the summer of 1788, when composing his final three symphonies – a few months after the premiere of the opera Don Giovanni – Mozart reserved a more sombre, melancholic and tense mood for his Symphony No. 40 than usual, creating more of a Romantic emotional style. Though the urgency of this composition surprised his peers, the magnificence of the work was recognised by Schumann, who described it as “full of Hellenic gracefulness”. With Raúl da Costa performing Piano Concerto No. 27, the Gulbenkian Orchestra will dive into the stimulating last years of Mozart’s creative life.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Gulbenkian Orchestra

Sponsor Piano Concertos

  • logo stone

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.