Mitsuko Uchida

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Event Slider

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mitsuko Uchida Piano / Conductor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto Nº. 25 in C major, K. 503

Arnold Schönberg
Chamber Symphony Nº. 1 in E major, op. 9

— Intermission 20 min —

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto Nº. 27 in B-flat major, K. 595

Arnold Schönberg
Sechs kleine Klavierstücke, op. 19 n.º 2

Since 2016, when she established a partnership with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, pianist Mitsuko Uchida has delved with renewed enthusiasm into the notable project of performing Mozart’s piano concertos. Conducting the orchestra from her piano, Uchida not only extols the genius instilled in these works but also submits to the resulting rapport that is created. Apropos of this artistic link, The Guardian newspaper wrote in 2020 that “Uchida and the orchestra often seem, in the best possible sense, like a married couple who have lived a long life together, each finishing the other’s phrases.”

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.