Mitsuko Uchida

Event Slider

  • Piano

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 27, in E minor, op. 90
— Intermission 20 min. —

Franz Schubert

Piano Sonata No. 21, in B flat major, D. 960
Duration approximately: 60 min.

After dedicating herself to the demanding Diabelli Variations, pushing her interpretation of one of Beethoven’s most fascinating creations to the limit – along with Schubert and Mozart, the centrepiece of her career – the accomplished pianist Mitsuko Uchida asked herself what the next challenge should be. She found an answer in the last piano sonatas by the German composer, whose genius she says lies in “his absolutely grandiose vision of the universe”. At Gulbenkian Music, Uchida will perform Beethoven’s Sonatas No. 27, combining it with one of Schubert’s final three masterpieces in the genre.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.