Mahler’s 9th Symphony

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Leila Josefowicz Violin

Alban Berg

Violin Concerto, “to the memory of an angel”
— Intermission —

Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 9 in D major

The extraordinary American violinist Leila Josefowicz is one of the most recognised and admired interpreters of contemporary music, to the extent that many composers, including John Adams, Esa-Pekka Salonen or Luca Francesconi, have written concertos with her technical skills and elegant expressiveness in mind. In this programme conducted by Hannu Lintu, which also includes Mahler’s challenging 9th Symphony, Josefowicz will perform Alban Berg’s popular Violin Concerto, dedicated to Alma Mahler’s daughter, who died very young.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.