Mahler's 1th

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation


50% – Under 30 years old
15% – Over 65 years old

Max Bruch

Violin Concerto No. 1, in G minor, op. 26

— Intermission 20 min —

Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 1, in D major

Mahler is one of the composers Giancarlo Guerrero feels closest to, and the maestro declared in an interview his natural attraction for a work that “touches on many natural and earthly themes”, and in which he also finds much of the composer’s personal universe: “desires, dreams and even frustrations from his life that are interwoven in a special way” in the music. After all, Mahler said: “a symphony must be like the world – it must contain everything”. Added to this special relationship is the vitality and brilliance of violinist Karen Gomyo, who will play Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 in the first part.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.