Mahler's 1st

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Verneri Pohjola Trumpet

Kaija Saariaho

HUSH, concerto for trumpet and orchestra
— Intermission 20 min —

Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 1 in D major
Duration approximately: 90 min.

Conductor Susanna Mälkki described the music of Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho as “new and timeless, personal and universal, from the first moment you hear it” (New York Times). And he said that, under any circumstances, “we are always transported to another time and place”. It will therefore be a privilege to see HUSH, conducted by Mälkki and performed by trumpeter Verneri Pohjola, for whom the piece was composed. In the second part, the conductor will lead the Gulbenkian Orchestra in Mahler’s powerful Symphony No. 1, completing an unforgettable musical experience.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.