Leif Ove Andsnes

Event Slider

Over four intense years, the Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes immersed himself in the work of Beethoven to the point where he fully identified with the German composer: “That’s part of the excitement – becoming the composer,” he said in an interview. “It’s a real privilege to dedicate yourself to a composer and to try and understand what the master was creating.” Andsnes later focused on other great composers, but he continued to carry all the knowledge and synchrony of his relationship with Beethoven but in dialogue with figures like Janáček, Vustin and Dvořák.


Leif Ove Andsnes Piano

Leos Janáček
Piano Sonata 1.X.1905

Alexander Vustin

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata Nº. 31 in A-flat major, op. 110

— Intermission 20 min —

Antonín Dvořák
Poetic Tone Pictures, op. 85

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected] .

Mecenas Principal Gulbenkian Música

Mecenas Ciclo de Piano

  • PWC

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.