Grigory Sokolov

Event Slider

  • Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach

Four Duets BWV 802-205
Partita No. 2, in C minor, BWV 826

— Intermission 20 min —

Fryderyk Chopin

Four Mazurkas, op. 30
Three Mazurkas, op. 50

Robert Schumann

Waldszenen, op. 82

The figures are impressive and speak for themselves: Grigory Sokolov, one of the most extraordinary musicians of our time, presents his 14th consecutive recital in the Gulbenkian Música seasons. The sheer poetry and unsurpassed elegance of Sokolov’s interpretations have long established him as a pianist without equal, surprising in both his repertoire choices and his approaches. In one of his most recent performances, he was compared to the columns of the Parthenon in Athens. Perhaps because, on each occasion, we have the sensation of being in front of an extraordinary piece of history.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.