Emperor's Concerto

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Piano

Paul Hindemith

Mathis der Maler
— Intermission 20 min —

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Concerto No. 5, in E flat major, op. 73, Emperor

After performing Beethoven’s full-length Piano and Violin Sonatas with Isabelle Faust to vigorous critical acclaim, Russian pianist Alexander Melnikov dives into the German composer’s final Piano and Orchestra Concerto with the Gulbenkian Orchestra. Beethoven’s revolutionary creation, which would go on to set a new standard, appears in this programme, conducted by Hannu Lintu, in the company of Hindemith’s symphony Mathis der Maler, based on the opera of the same name dedicated to questioning the role of the artist in society.

Sponsor Piano and Orchestra Concertos

  • logo stone

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.