La Valse

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Cello

Bedřich Smetana

Má vlast: Vltava (The Moldau)

Edward Elgar

Cello Concerto in E minor, op. 85
— Intermission 20 min —

Claude Debussy

La mer

Maurice Ravel

La Valse
Duration: 90 min.

At the age of 21, Aziz Shokhakimov was the precocious runner-up in the hotly contested International Gustav Mahler Prize for Conductors. Since that auspicious moment in 2010, he has earned a place among the most sought-after conductors and, six years later, he was honoured with the Herbert von Karajan Prize for Young Conductors. The young Uzbek, currently Music Director of the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra, conducts the Gulbenkian Orchestra in a programme that includes Smetana, Debussy, Ravel, and Elgar’s unmissable Cello Concerto, with soloist Marco Pereira.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.