Busoni's Piano Concerto

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Piano

Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 3, in C major, op. 52
— Intermission —

Ferruccio Busoni

Piano Concerto in C major, op. 39

In the year that marks 100 years since the death of the Italian composer Ferrucio Busoni, Gulbenkian Music presents the monumental Piano Concerto, op. 39. The Gulbenkian Choir and Orchestra, virtuoso pianist Kirill Gerstein and conductor Hannu Lintu perform a work whose over the top nature and inspiration for romantic music has proved to be an object of great fascination. The first part will feature Symphony No. 3 by Jean Sibelius, a Finnish composer linked to Busoni by a friendship established when the latter was teaching in Helsinki.

Sponsor Piano and Orchestra Concertos

  • logo stone

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.