Brahms 4th

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Oboe

Richard Wagner

Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde

Richard Strauss

Oboe Concerto in D major

— Intermission 20 min —

Johannes Brahms

Symphony No. 4, in E minor, op. 98

Duration: 1h 50 min.

It is hard to imagine music that so perfectly represents love and desire, uncertainties and romantic raptures, as the Prelude to Tristan und Isolde. Nor is it easy to find such poignant notes for the tragic death of one of the lovers as the one we hear in Liebestod. A sumptuous and intense symphonic dive which is then enhanced by the virtuoso musical discourses of the Oboe Concerto by R. Strauss and Brahms’ Symphony No. 4.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.