Arcadi Volodos (new date)

Event Slider

  • Piano

Franz Schubert

Piano Sonata in A minor, D. 845

— Intermission 20 min —

Robert Schumann

Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6

Franz Liszt / Arcadi Volodos

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 13, in A minor, S. 244/13

Duration: 110 minutes

Arcadi Volodos’ pianistic brilliance is so evident in every note formed with his hands that, as early as 1996, a private audition for a Sony Classical editor was celebrated with a contract signed the next day on the grounds that “we only come across talent like this once in a lifetime”. But Volodos, regarded by many as the successor to Vladimir Horowitz, never let that overwhelm him. And if his prodigious technique is always put at the service of a magnificent expressiveness, he also believes that it is the prolonged relationships with the composers and the repertoire that reveal the real dimension of each work.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Piano Series

  • PWC

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.