Alexandre Kantorow

Event Slider

  • Piano

Johannes Brahms

Piano Sonata No. 1, in C major, op. 1

— Intermission 20 min —

Franz Schubert / Franz Liszt

Der Wanderer
Der Müller und der Bach
Die Stadt (from Schwanengesang)
Am Meer (from Schwanengesang)

Franz Schubert

Fantasie in C major, D. 760, Wanderer (arr. by Franz Liszt)

Franz Schubert / Franz Liszt

Litanie: Adagio Religioso


Valse triste

Franz Liszt

Années de Pèlerinage I - Suite 160: n.º 6 - Vallée d’ Obermann

Alexandre Kantorow’s debut at Gulbenkian Música in March 2022 was effusively applauded. This season, the French pianist, one of classical music’s great revelations of recent years, will return to the Grand Auditorium for a recital dedicated to Brahms and Schubert. At 22, Kantorow became the first Frenchman to win the Tchaikovsky Competition, where he also earned the Grand Prix (an additional honour), awarded only three times in its entire history. Since then, he has wowed the world’s most prestigious venues and won rave reviews. Gramophone magazine described him as “a burning virtuoso of poetic charm and innate stylistic mastery”.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Piano Series Sponsor

  • PWC

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.