Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
  • Concert
  • Chamber and Lied
  • M/6

Cuarteto Casals

Complete Beethoven String Quartets - Part V


Tue, 24 April 2018


Main Building – Grand Auditorium
Av. de Berna, 45A , Lisbon
(+351) 217 823 700
Google Maps »


  • Stalls: €15,00

In a recurrent situation throughout the history of music, Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 13, in B-flat major, op. 130, was initially given an unenthusiastic reception by the critics, notably because of its last movement, the long and expansive Great Fugue. The adverse reactions and pressure from the editor convinced Beethoven to compose an alternative ending. The Great Fugue was eventually published separately in 1827, with the designation op. 131. Nevertheless, the visionary character of the Great Fugue was much later praised by Stravinsky, who declared it “eternally contemporary”. 


Cuarteto Casals
Vera Martínez Violin
Abel Tomàs Violin
Jonathan Brown Viola
Arnau Tomàs Cello

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 3 in D major, op. 18 No. 3
String Quartet No. 2 in G major, op. 18 No. 2
String Quartet No. 7 in F major, op. 59 No. 1, “Razumovsky”


Chamber Music Sponsor

What's On