Rob Mazurek

Exploding Star Orchestra

Event Slider

A central figure in Chicago’s avante-garde scene since the 1990s, Rob Mazurek gained huge notoriety with Chicago Underground, a group that metamorphosed from a duo to an orchestra. In Brazil, where he lived for several years, he trialled a similar project called São Paulo Underground, creating the seminal Exploding Star Orchestra when he returned to Chicago. Within this project created in 2005, Mazurek has explored the most avant-garde currents in the city’s music scene, incorporating musicians from post-rock, AACM and free improvisation. This incessant quest to depict the musical landscape of this flourishing artistic epicentre led to his crossing paths with International Anthem in this new and dazzling incarnation of Exploding Star.


Rob Mazurek Composer, Piccolo trumpet, Eletronics, Modular Synthesizer
Damon Locks Texts, Voice, Eletronics
Nicole Mitchell Flutes
Keir Neuringer Alto saxophone
Tomeka Reid Cello
Pasquale Mirra Vibraphone
Julien Desprez Electric guitar
Jaimie Branch Trumpet
Angelica Sanchez Piano, Keyboards
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten Double bass
Chad Taylor Drums, Percussion
Mikel Patrick Avery Drums, Percussion
John Herndon Rhythms machine


The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected] .

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.