Dieb13 Beatnik Manifesto

Event Slider

dieb13 Composition, Video, Turntable
Camille Emaille Drums, Percussion
Erik Carlsson Drums
eRikm Electronics
Billy Roisz Electronics
Sandy Ewen Electric guitar
Finn Loxbo Electric guitar
Susanna Gartmayer Bass clarinet
Hans Koch Bass clarinet
Anna Hogberg Alto saxophone
Phil Minton Voice
Karolina Preuschl Voice
Guro Moe Double bass
Matija Schellander Double bass
Arnold “Noid” Haberl Sound director

Approximate duration: 60 min.

After a previous visit as a member of the incandescent Swedish Azz (with Mats Gustafsson), DJ, composer and video artist dieb13 returns to Jazz em Agosto with an extended line-up (featuring the voices of Phil Minton and Karolina Preuschl), entrusted with the particular mission of giving a musical and visual response to the beatnik manifesto. Leading an armada of 14 musicians who are experts in experimental environments, dieb13 puts several of his compositions on stage, organised into four acts. If the beatniks were inspired by jazz for their literary creation and established constant relationships between words, rhythm and stream of consciousness, dieb13 proposes the opposite movement, starting from the music and spreading the narration over it, taking advantage of a formation in which the instruments appear doubled.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.