Darius Jones fLuxKit Vancouver

(i​̶​t​̶​s̶ suite but sacred)

Event Slider

Darius Jones Alto saxophone, Composition
Gerald Cleaver Drums
Jesse Zubot Violin
Josh Zubot Violin
Peggy Lee Cello
James Meger Double bass

Approximate duration:75 min.

“fLuxKit Vancouver” is a stunning composition by saxophonist Darius Jones, divided into four movements and the result of a commission from the Western Front arts centre, in Vancouver. In part, Jones draws on the thinking of the artists of the Fluxus movement, especially the importance attributed to the moment and the questioning of the various disciplines, punctuating the score with graphic cues that point to the use of extended techniques used by string instruments. “I look at improvisation as a multitude of sounds and that informs the way I think as a composer and improviser,” he explained to the magazine The Wire. With a suite of breath and an assumed narrative dimension, this is a piece that, the magazine suggests, connects both “to the revolutionary fervour of Fluxus” and “to the spiritual power of collective creation”.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.