Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra

Event Slider

Per ”Texas” Johansson Saxophone
Kjetil Møster Saxophone
Eirik Hegdal Saxophone
Otis Sandsjö Saxophone
Mette Rasmussen Saxophone
Maciej Obara Saxophone
Signe Emmeluth Krunderup Saxophone
Thomas Johansson Trumpet
Goran Kajfes Trumpet
Erik Johannessen Trombone
Guro Kvåle Trombone
Petter Eldh Double bass
Ole Morten Vågan Double bass
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten Double bass
Håkon Mjåset Johansen Drums
Hans Hulbækmo Drums
Gard Nilssen Drums
Jørgen Brennhovd Sound design

Duration 60 minutes

The closing concert will be performed by the magnificent Scandinavian troupe led by the drummer and composer Gard Nilssen, an all-star roll call of many of Scandinavia’s most exciting musicians, such as Mette Rasmussen, Ingebrigt Haker Flaten and Per “Texas” Johansson. Nilssen’s most ambitious musical dream took form after a commission from the 2019 Molde International Jazz Festival. It brings together 16 instrumentalists who swing constantly between the lustre of written music for an ensemble of this size and the freedom asked of each to explore other less controllable and compliant avenues in independently operating subgroups. This big party, wide open to surprises, brings Jazz in August to an end.



  • JazzM

Official Radio

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.