Verklärte Nacht

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Lorenzo Viotti

Event Slider

Verklärte Nacht was originally composed for string sextet (1899), and was orchestrated by Schönberg in 1917 and 1943. Inspired by the poem of the same name by Richard Dehmel, this programmatic work was Schönberg’s first major score, a milestone in the development of a revolutionary musical language. Meanwhile, in 1936, Bartók composed Music for strings, percussion and celesta for an unconventional instrumental ensemble. Two groups of strings, spatially separated by a large percussion section, drive a score that is also a synthesis of Bartók’s organic musical writing.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Lorenzo Viotti Conductor

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945)
Music for strings, percussion and celesta, Sz. 106
– Andante tranquillo
– Allegro
– Adagio
– Allegro molto

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Verklärte Nacht, op. 4
– Grave – Molto rallentando – Pesante – Adagio

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].