The Blue Danube

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

The genius of Portuguese pianist and composer Vianna da Motta was so obvious that in 1882 he went to Berlin, with the sponsorship of King D. Fernando, to pursue his studies. Three years later, in Weimar, he attended the last Summer Course lectured by Franz Liszt, which would deeply influence his future path. Cenas nas Montanhas is one of the most remarkable compositions of Vianna da Motta’s repertory, at the level of the other pieces and composers included in this captivating programme, where the popular melody of The Blue Danube also stands out.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Tobias Wögerer Conductor
Vera Dias Comments

Vianna da Motta
Cenas nas Montanhas

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
The Snow Maiden (Suite)

Benjamin Britten
Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, op. 33a

Johann Strauss II
An der schönen, blauen Donau, op. 314