Mozart's Violin Concerto No. 5

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Violin, Direction

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Ballade for Orchestra, op. 33

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Violin Concerto No. 5, in A major, K. 219
— Intermission 20 min —

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 8, in G major, op. 88

A child prodigy in his early years studying the violin, Pinchas Zukerman soon made a name for himself in the world of music, with Isaac Stern as his mentor. After a glittering career, his continued desire to study music further led him to combine the position of soloist with that of conductor. It was in this dual capacity that Zukerman returned to Gulbenkian Music to conduct works by Coleridge-Taylor and Dvořák and to play Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5 with the Gulbenkian Orchestra. He is, as the Los Angeles Times has called him, an “eternally youthful virtuoso”.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.