Christmas Oratorio

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir

Event Slider

Divided into six cantatas, the Christmas Oratorio is one of Bach’s most majestic pieces. Bach composed the six parts of the Oratorio for different days of Christmas festivities, having as specific motifs the birth of Jesus, the adoration of the shepherds or the presenting of the gifts by the Magi. After 50 years conducting the Gulbenkian Choir, conductor Michel Corboz places the spotlight on J. S. Bach, the composer who awoke his never-ending passion for the musicality of the human voice.


Gulbenkian Choir
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Michel Corboz Conductor
Ana Quintans Soprano
Marianne Beate Kielland Mezzo
Benedikt Kristjánsson Tenor
Hugo Oliveira* Baritone
Marcelo Giannini Pipe organ

Johann Sebastian Bach
Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248

13 and 15 December: Cantatas I, III e VI
14 and 16 December: Cantatas II, IV e V

*Due to health reasons, bass-baritone Philippe-Sly is replaced by Hugo Oliveira.