Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

Part of a cycle of pieces based on daily Muslim rituals, Adh Dhohr adopts the particularities of the solar zenith and its influence on the mid-day prayer to produce a piece which explores the relationship between individual and collective music movements. Benjamin Attahir’s piece for serpent and orchestra is part of a programme lead by the Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu, who conducts canonical works with renewed enthusiasm. The concert also counts on the mastery of Spanish pianist Javier Perianes, for whom Brahms’ work is a never-ending source of revelation and awe.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Hannu Lintu Conductor
Javier Perianes Piano
Patrick Wibart Serpent

Richard Strauss
Don Juan, op. 20

Benjamin Attahir
Adh Dhohr, Concerto for Serpent and Orchestra *

Johannes Brahms
Piano Concerto No. 1, in D minor, op. 15

7 Nov

Edvard Grieg
Lyric Pieces, op. 54 no. 4, Notturno

8 Nov

Fryderyk Chopin
Mazurka in A minor, op. 17 no. 4

* Portuguese premiere