



MINUTE OF JURY SELECTION

Call for a Research fellowship Project 101116029-META_FUN-ERC-2023-StG

On 21st June 2024, at 12pm, the jury selection formed by Dr Giulia Ghedini, Dr Charlotte Briddon and Dr Marco Fumasoni, met to analyse the applications to a master research fellowship (BI), in the scope of the 101116029-META_FUN-ERC-2023-StG, funded by the European Research Council.

The call was open from 06 of June 2024 until 19 of June 2024. The jury analysed the documents included in the applications found attached to these minutes.

Name	Full application	CV and previous experience (40%)	Motivation letter (20%)	Reference letters (20%)	Evaluatio n (máx. 80%)
1 Ricardo					
Estevens	Yes	40	20	20	80
2 Jiayang Ye	Yes	37	18	10	65
3 Akilan Elumalai	Yes	25	10	na	35
4 Adam Weber	Yes	25	7	na	33
5 Pedro Bulcão	Yes	20	5	na	25
6 Ricardo Claudino	Yes	15	5	na	20
7 Andreia São Pedro	Yes	15	5	na	20
8 Jéssica Diaz	Yes	15	5	na	20

The call received 8 applications that were classified with the following way:

After considering all applications, the jury convened to request reference letters for candidates 1 and 2 given their interest and relevant experience in phytoplankton, ecology/evolution and clear motivation letter for joining the lab and this project. Candidates number 3 and 4 had some experience in microalgae but their motivation and skills did not fully align with the goals of the research project. Candidates 5 to 8 did not have comparable experience in phytoplankton ecology as mostly have a biomedical/biotechnology training.

Based on the documents presented, candidates skills and availability, the jury decided by unanimity to recommend the hiring of candidate number 1 without the need of interviews because of the stronger alignment in terms of skills and motivation to develop the project.

All the candidates were informed of the deliberations of the Jury between 24 and 26 June 2024. If there are no complaints during the 10 working days following the publication of this minute, the decisions herein communicated will be considered as effective.





There being no further matters to discuss, the meeting for which these minutes were drawn up was closed and signed by all the members of the Jury.

Oeiras, 26 of June 2024

Chair of the Jury: Giulia Ghedini

Jury member 1: Charlotte Briddon

Jury member 2: Marco Fumansoni

Pivero Pladini Charlotte Berddu Mm Fri