António Coutinho Science Awards Ceremony

Event Slider

Ceremony to celebrate the talent of the António Coutinho Science Awards programme, the diversity and the global agenda for science democratization.

The António Coutinho Science Awards programme offers master’s fellowships and post-doctoral awards to boost scientific careers and foster diversity in science. It is addressed to scientists in the exact sciences, life sciences and health sciences, from Portuguese-speaking African Countries or descendants from these countries. The Gulbenkian Collaborative Centre, in partnership with Merck and Oeiras Municipality, opens applications for the António Coutinho Science Awards annually. Between 2019 and 2022, 8 people were awarded for their research internships and innovative and strategically relevant projects, fostering international collaborations.

On the 27th of September, the award ceremony for the second and third editions of the program, respectively 2020/2021 and 2021/2022, will take place. The ceremony, hosted by Gisela Casimiro, includes brief presentations on the innovative and international projects of each awardee, and will be followed by a cocktail. During the cocktail, it is possible to meet the award-winning talent and visit the related exhibition “Ciência para o Mundo in the gardens. Associação Faísca Voadora, Bazofo_Dentu Zona and Pitéu da Xinda will also take part in the event.

The ceremony is open to the public, with mandatory pre-registration. The event will be held in Portuguese and will have interpretation in Portuguese Sign Language, through the Association of Translators and Interpreters of Portuguese Sign Language.




18:00   Welcome

Mónica Bettencourt-Dias, Director of Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência  


18:10    Fostering scientific careers and diversity in science

Video Presentation


18:15    Innovative and International Science

Brief Presentations

Mónica Medina Lopes, ACSA 2020/2021
Nashon Majaliwa, ACSA 2020/2021
Lucas Miguel, ACSA 2020/2021
Érica Simão, ACSA 2021/2022
Tamar Monteiro, ACSA 2021/2022
Sosdito Mananze, ACSA 2021/2022


Award Ceremony

António Coutinho, Former Director of Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
Pedro Patacho, Oeiras Municipality Councillor
Pedro Moura, Managing Director of Merck Portugal
Maria Hermínia Cabral, Director of the Gulbenkian Partnerships for Development Programme
António Pinto, 2019/2020 ACSA Awardee 


18:45    Words for scientists of today and tomorrow

António Coutinho


18:50    Graphic facilitation display

Morgane Masterman, Faísca Voadora NGO 


18:55    Closing remarks

António Cruz Serra, Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian Executive Director 


19:00    Cocktail  

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected] .

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.